Steve Martin & Edie Brickell Team Up; Stream First Song from The Hillbilly Killers; New Album Releases

Juli Thanki | January 8th, 2013

  • Give a listen to “They Call Us The Hillbilly Killers,” the first song from, naturally, The Hillbilly Killers (Catherine Britt, Bill Chambers, Tim Rogers, Shane O’Mara, James Gillard, and Michael Muchow).
  • posted a recap of 2012’s music sales: Some writers will try to put a positive spin on the year by saying that overall music transactions were up 3.1% to 1.661 billion units sold. But that number really doesn’t tell the story. Overall album sales were off -4.4% (physical was off -13.5%) and Overall Album Sales with TEA, a key metric which includes albums (physical and digital) plus digital track sales was also down -1.8% (Track Equivalent Albums; 10 tracks=1 album). But although overall purchases lagged, country music was up and the best performer of all the genre categories.
  • Steve Martin and Edie Brickell teamed up for a new record: Love Has Come for You will be released April 23 on Rounder Records.
  • Richard Thompson talks about his forthcoming record, Electric, in this video.
  • Record label Dust-to-Digital was featured in The Economist. An excerpt from the article: Dust-to-Digital is trying to preserve the past on a larger scale through a non-profit organisation called Music Memory. Its goal is to digitise as much as possible as rapidly as it can, by placing equipment in the homes of record collectors who are methodically processing their own holdings. The group will assemble lyrics, liner notes, discographic data and audio in an expanding online collection. The challenge with all this cataloguing, digitising and assembling material for label releases is the awkward status of audio (or “phonogram”) rights…Whereas the rights of musical composition or spoken words are subject to copyright similar to that covering printed material such as books, audio released in the United States from the beginnings of audio recording in the 1870s until 1972 remains under protection until 2067 or later. (Some reform efforts currently under way might succeed in putting audio from the 1920s and earlier in the public domain, as well as shortening the limits for the rest.) 
  • The Milk Carton Kids have signed with Anti-; they’ll release a new record early this year. The duo also has a song in the film Promised Land, which you can listen to here.
  • Eric Shea, founder of the annual Sleepless Nights Gram Parsons tribute concerts, lists ten albums that define “cosmic American music,” including releases from The Flying Burrito Brothers, The Everly Brothers, and Buffalo Springfield.
  • Brian T. Atkinson interviewed Ruthie Foster for CMT Edge. An excerpt: I think music is a healer. It’s been that for me. I grew up really shy, and I had this stutter and used to stammer all over myself when I was a little girl, 10 or 11 years old. Music and poetry were ways for me to communicate. It was how I spoke. I’d write a poem for someone and say what I wanted to say, or I’d write a song for someone to say what I meant. I think music’s a healer and it’ll always be that.
  • Taylor Swift and Harry Styles broke up, reports Page Six. They’d been dating for a little over a month, which is approximately 18 months in Taylor Swift Relationship Years.
  • Curb Records will release the 11-song compilation Tim McGraw & Friends on January 22.
  • There’s a new Vanguard/Sugar Hill compilation available on NoiseTrade featuring live and acoustic performances of songs by Kathy Mattea, Sarah Jarosz, Sam Bush, and others.
  • A fundraising drive for a planned Bluegrass Music Center in Owensboro, Kentucky, has already netted $2.6 million in pledges.
  • Craig Shelburne interviewed Eleni Mandell of The Living Sisters about the group’s new EP.
  • The Opry will make its CRS debut next month.
  • The annual Fiddler’s Grove festival is ending after more than 40 years.
  • There was a piece about influential New Orleans pianist Professor Longhair on NPR.
  • In this American Songwriter Q&A, Uncle Kracker talks about signing with Sugar Hill and his newest album, Midnight Special.
  • A four-disc collection of Bob Dylan outtakes was released in Europe. From Paste: The official Sony release was done so to combat a recent copyright provision that would’ve put his songs in the public domain allowing people to use them without his consent. 
  • This week’s album releases:

Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out Timeless Hits from the Past Bluegrassed

Jesse and Noah Driven Back

The Living Sisters Run for Cover

Pure Prairie League Something in the Night (now available on mp3)

Brandon Jenkins Through the Fire

Christie Leigh Deep Down Damned

Stop the Truck Legacy: The Songs of Freddy Powers

Matt Collins The Nashville Sessions, Vol. 1

The Suicide Kings Blood River

Various Artists Justified: Music from the Original Television Series

Various Artists – Alternative Country Ladies

  • And a new book:

William J. Bush Greenback Dollar: The Incredible Rise of The Kingston Trio

  1. Rick
    January 8, 2013 at 5:44 pm

    Speaking of “Justified” the new all too short 2013 season on the FX channel starts tonight! Yee Haw! I can’t wait to see which Americana artists will be featured this year, and who the creepy new characters will be…

    Bill Chambers promised me a freebie copy of the “Hillbilly Killers” CD last summer on the Santa Monica Pier but I might have a bit of a challenge trying to remind him! Hey Jeremy (Dylan), can you help me out with this? (lol)

    That “Gangster Squad” soundtrack sounds promising. Will the CD’s have risque pictures of Emma Stone on the front and back? Just wondering…(lol)

    Best Blog Comment of the Week: “They’d been dating for a little over a month, which is approximately 18 months in Taylor Swift Relationship Years.” That deserves an “OMG”, “ROFLMAO”!

  2. Rick
    January 8, 2013 at 10:55 pm

    Another album that was released today is Amber Digby’s “The World You’re Living In” which was apparently partially recorded in Nashville since artists like Vince Gill and Pig Robbins participated. I’m adding this to my list of new CD’s I will purchase this coming year! Including the upcoming Pistol Annies album (and maybe Ashley Monroe’s), that make TWO! WooHoo! (lol)

Tagged In This Article

// // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // //

Current Discussion

  • Paige: Oh damn. :( I never commented here and I haven't been listening to any music at all since Thanksgiving (it …
  • Dave W.: Just read the news here. Will miss E145 very much - love this site. All the best to you Juli …
  • Leeann Ward: Oh, dang! This is real. Farewell to the most generous, informative, quality, intelligent, consistent, ethical country music blog! You …
  • bll: Thanks Juli for all the great articles and information; you'll be missed by me and I suss several others. Best …
  • Both Kinds of Music: I hope people appreciate the irony that one of the best "Americana" albums is titled Metamodern Sounds in COUNTRY Music.
  • Barry Mazor: I would not rule out that possibility..There's a different set of voters involved..
  • Dana M: Does anyone else think that Brandy Clark actually has a good chance of winning since this isn't a country awards …
  • Juli Thanki: UPDATE: Brandy Clark got a Best New Artist nom. BEST AMERICANA ALBUM: Rosanne Cash -- The River & The Thread John Hiatt -- Terms …
  • luckyoldsun: Glenn Campbell is great and I'd love to see him get an award, but the words of that song may …
  • Casey Penn: Juli, it was an honor to write for you here on You're good at what you do, and The …

Recently Reviewed Albums

  • walkerandthetexasdangers3
  • deadmanstown
  • tom t hall storytellers
  • paulthorntooblessed
  • duhksbeyondtheblue
  • kelleymickwee
  • sandrarhodes
  • candi staton