New Robbie Fulks, Greencards Albums Due in August; Stream New Court Yard Hounds Song; Sugar Hill to Release The Definitive Doc Watson

Juli Thanki | June 5th, 2013

  • Robbie Fulks’ next record, Gone Away Backward, is coming out August 27 on Bloodshot Records.
  • The Greencards will release their next album, Sweetheart of the Sun, on August 20.
  • Stream Aoife O’Donovan’s new album on The New York Times’ site.
  • Darden Smith’s Compass Records debut, Love Calling, comes out July 30. (via press release)
  • On July 16, Sugar Hill will release The Definitive Doc Watson, a two-disc collection that spans 1962-2005. (via press release)
  • Rolling Stone named Ashley Monroe one of the year’s top musical troublemakers.
  • Stephen Deusner interviewed Pokey LaFarge for CMT Edge.
  • John Hamlin, CMT’s senior VP of music events and talent, on the genre-blending collaborations that will occur on tonight’s CMT Awards: “I’m a firm believer that music has no boundaries, and increasingly so in the world we now live in…[country music is] as popular as it’s ever been, so when you are trying to put together collaborations, you’re trying to draw in more people…the theory in collaborations is one plus one equals three or more.”
  • Rench of Gangstagrass on the group’s hip hop/bluegrass sound: “The mix is definitely complementary if you know how to bring the right parts of each of these things together. The hip-hop and the bluegrass musicians are both very improvisational. So that works out really well in terms of being able to have a live show with a lot of spontaneity, a lot of interaction and being able to play things by ear. The bluegrass guys play solos, comp and mix things up, and the hip-hop guys are just incredible freestylers and just jump on the music. Once they start rapping over it, they really change up the structure.” 
  • Brian T. Atkinson of CMT Edge interviewed JD Souther about new EP Midnight in Tokyo.
  • Rolling Stone premiered “Sunshine,” a song from the Court Yard Hounds’ forthcoming record.
  • Alison Krauss, Josh Turner, Ryan Adams, and Dwight Yoakam are among the guests who will appear on Frog Trouble (out September 3), a country album of children’s songs by author Sandra Boynton.
  • Paste premiered a new song from Larry and His Flask.
  • Pete Kuykendall, Lester Flatt, Andy Griffith, Norman Blake, The Stoneman Family, and Kyle Creed are this year’s inductees into the Blue Ridge Music Hall of Fame. The ceremony is scheduled for this Saturday.
  • Coming out July 9: Earl Poole Ball’s Pianography. (via press release)
  • Jay Farrar talks about Son Volt’s most recent album, Honky Tonk, in this article posted on


  1. Dave D.
    June 5, 2013 at 10:11 am

    Really glad to see there will be new Robbie Fulks music. Less glad to see that several songs on the record were previously released on 50-Vc. Doberman.

  2. Janice Brooks
    June 5, 2013 at 10:13 am

    Wow a new release from Earl. No I’m not watching the CMT awards tonight.

  3. Rick
    June 5, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    So Ashley Monroe met Willie Nelson and she thinks he smells incredible eh? The question is if he smelled like weed instead of roses? Hmm…..

    I enjoy the gangstagrass theme song from the FX channel series “Justified” titled “Hard Times To Come”, but one song of that nature is enough for me!

    Music City Roots Alert! MCR is kicking off their summer season and they are featuring some top notch artists over the next few weeks. Tonight’s theme is “Barn Dance” and the artists include John England and The Western Swingers, Whiskey Bent Valley Boys, Spirit Family Reunion, Jacob Jones, and Black Jake and the Carnies. Should be a good time!

    So the CMT Awards are on TV tonight eh? I’ll have to make sure to avoid the CMT channel while surfing around during commercial breaks tonight while watching Storage Wars, Pawn Stars, American Pickers, and American Restoration re-runs….

  4. BRUCE
    June 5, 2013 at 8:58 pm

    @Rick – Ashley is a hippie and all hippies love ole Willie.

  5. Paul W Dennis
    June 5, 2013 at 11:49 pm

    Doc Watson made so many terrific recordngs that a truly definitive Doc Waton collection would need at least six discs and 200 songs

Tagged In This Article

// // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // //

Current Discussion

  • Paul W Dennis: They are an interesting group. This song sounds more jazzy (Andrews Sisters, Puppini Sisiter, Ingrid Lucia) but for a folkier …
  • Barry Mazor: What the "Americana" term brings to mind, by this point, is a matter of time and marketing. Like all …
  • Paul W Dennis: I loved the Jerry Douglas interview and love the ideas behind his two concept albums Unfortunately I never had the opportunity …
  • luckyoldsun: Barry, That's a good point, as far as country itself being a word that refers to a lot more than a …
  • Six String Richie: Also, in regards to that article, Aldean's #2 complaint was "Nashville Copycats" and he gripes that people are copping Luke …
  • Six String Richie: Billboard misprinted his new single as "Burnin' It Up" in that article! That goes to show how little even …
  • CraigR.: Here are 5 things that piss me off about Jason Aldean: 1. He is a sore winner. Why complain when you …
  • Barry Mazor: The words "country" and jazz (or "jass") and blues had been around for decades before they became genres (or formats) …
  • Jeff Miller: Yeah, the first time I played Jimmie Rodgers for my wife & daughter- they were aghast that he was singing …
  • David Cantwell: I think it more helpful to think of Americana not as a genre but as a format--and, perhaps better, and …

Recently Reviewed Albums

  • paulthorntooblessed
  • duhksbeyondtheblue
  • kelleymickwee
  • sandrarhodes
  • candi staton
  • sturgillsimpsonmetamodern
  • raypricebeautyis
  • rodneycrowelltarpapersky