Merle Haggard Cancels Shows; Preview Terri Clark; Rock Bands’ Country; Plus Free Music

Brody Vercher | July 20th, 2009

  1. Razor X
    July 20, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Is country crushing Nashville’s creativity?

    Shouldn’t that be the other way around?

  2. idlewildsouth
    July 20, 2009 at 11:20 am

    A lot of that Tennessean article was referring to the creativity of non-country folks. I’m sorry, but I just dont really have a lot of sympathy in that regard. I mean, what does one expect? If I go to Advanced Auto Parts, I cant justifiably be upset that I cant purchase milk and bread there. If they would like success with their various styles and genres, they need to go to that store…not the country music store.

  3. Stormy
    July 20, 2009 at 11:47 am

    If country music managed to crush the careers of Nashville’s own Fountains of Wayne, isn’t that a good thing?

  4. Stewman
    July 20, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    I normally am a big fan of Shelburne’s work, but this list is too obvious. I’d like to rediscover acts that were really popular or maybe dont get the attention anymore. All of the acts in his article were the biggest acts of the decade.

  5. Chris D.
    July 20, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Hmmm… The Terri Clark clips remind me a lot of Fearless: that’s good!

  6. Baron Lane
    July 20, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    I thought Terri Clark walked away from her label to do something more real and gritty. This sounds like NashVegas puffery to me.

  7. Nicolas
    July 20, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    The clips of Terri Clark’s new album aren’t long enough, but the song about Vegas songs like a pretty good one =)

  8. Pierce
    July 20, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    That Tennessean article really dropped the ball, in my opinion. When I saw the headline yesterday, I was pretty pumped at the prospects of a thoughtful, provocative article.

    But quite frankly, it managed to say a lot without really saying anything.

  9. Matt B.
    July 20, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    Wouldn’t some argue that the Kings of Leon’s “Use Somebody” is as “Nashville” as a rock band can get? It is also selling the band boatloads of albums worldwide despite being a ‘sell-out’ compared to their other stuff. Why didn’t the article mention THAT?

  10. idlewildsouth
    July 20, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    Because Matt, that wouldn’t be helpful to the point of the article. Then people wouldn’t be inclined to say “But wait Rick Vito, is it because your rock that you cant get session work? Or is it because there are plenty of young gun guitarists in town, that are just as good or better?”

  11. Chris N.
    July 20, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    Fountains of Wayne are from Massachussetts. Or was that a joke that went over my head?

  12. Rick
    July 20, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    When I got into mainstream country music in the mid 80’s it was the neo-traditional artists like Ricky Skaggs, Randy Travis, and Steve Wariner that really got me hooked! I’m glad Craig Shelburne included them on his list but I’d rather see Gene Watson or John Anderson (or even Southern Pacific) on that list rather than Anne Murray! Sheesh!

    Mike Stinson’s move to Houston from L.A. has left a big hole at the middle of LA’s indigenous country scene as he was at the top of the heap. I asked David Serby if he was also thinking about moving to Texas to further his music career and the answer was a solid “no”. If David Serby and Dave Gleason were to move to Texas, there wouldn’t be much original real “country music” being performed around here any longer.

    How could the murder ballads list not include “Lonesome Bob” Chaney’s chilling cover of Johnny Paycheck’s “Pardon Me, I’ve Got Someone To Kill”!!!! Its my favorite cut off the “Executioner’s Songs Vol. 1″ album.

    Wow, that article on Nashville’s creativity is totally whacked out! Its the Top 40 country radio programmers that have stomped out the creativity on Music Row. The big labels are out to sell music and make money, and Top 40 radio wants pop-rock mediocre schlock these days. The different styles of music in Nashville aren’t stifling each other, they are being combined into a meaningless musical blob. Let’s lay the blame where it clearly belongs here.

    PS – Don’t forget about the fine “A Tribute To Jimmy Martin Vol. 1″ CD that’s readily available out there in quality musicland! I wonder what Jon thinks about this one? Hmmm…
    Link: http://www.amazon.com/Tribute-Jimmy-Martin-King-Bluegrass/dp/B00029J226

  13. Jim C
    July 20, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    Shelburne gets misty eyed about Restless Heart and misses Foster and Lloyd.

    enuf said.

  14. Rick
    July 20, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    Rick’s Random Tidbits Early Edition: The quote of the day comes from an interview with Cheyenne Kimball of Gloriana over on the Front Porch at Country Standard Time:

    Question from Jessica Phillips: “Little Big Town’s Karen Fairchild and Jimi Westbrook got hitched back in 2006. Could we expect a love connection in Gloriana?”
    Cheyenne Kimball: “Absolutely not. We’re all just like brothers and sisters. Honestly, we spent so much time together – there’s just no romantic things going on. It’s all like the smells and stuff, you know, living with guys. It’s kind of gross.”

    Rick’s comment: Oh how I appreciate honesty in interviews! (lol)

  15. Stormy
    July 20, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    Chris: Fountains of Wayne recorded that obnoxious Stacy’s Mom song in Nashville.

  16. Truersound
    July 20, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    @Rick “How could the murder ballads list not include “Lonesome Bob” Chaney’s chilling cover of Johnny Paycheck’s “Pardon Me, I’ve Got Someone To Kill”!!!! Its my favorite cut off the “Executioner’s Songs Vol. 1″ album.”

    Because I didn’t have that album until AFTER I made that comp. The comp is a solid 2 years old.

    I think what Nashville NEEDS is for it’s creativity (read: lack thereof) to die so that REAL creative acts can get some airtime. It’s getting close….notice they are letting ugly people have songs on the radio again :-P

Tagged In This Article

// // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // // //

Current Discussion

  • mrsandy: Also worth noting: Priscilla Mitchell was Jerry Reed's widow.
  • Leeann Ward: Wow! My heart goes out to Allison Moorer. She's had so many terrible things happen in her life. It's too …
  • Leeann Ward: I must have this audio book!
  • Juli Thanki: Ha! Same thing happened at Sturgill Simpson's show I went to last month, only he was singing "I Never Go …
  • Dave D.: On the topic of Lee Ann and dark songs, the funniest moment at this year's Americana Fest was during her …
  • Jonathan Pappalardo: I love Lori McKenna. Coming from Massachusetts, she's our local girl. I've been fortunate to see her in concert a …
  • bll: I suss her re-recording her hits for 'Gwendolen records' means she can stop MCA from releasing her hits against her.
  • Greg Judy: Cooler festivals and marching bands at the football games!
  • kevin ilinger: Fall colors bluegrass and apple cider
  • luckyoldsun: If I was a "long-time fan" of Trisha, I'd probably spring for the CD.

Recently Reviewed Albums

  • tom t hall storytellers
  • paulthorntooblessed
  • duhksbeyondtheblue
  • kelleymickwee
  • sandrarhodes
  • candi staton
  • sturgillsimpsonmetamodern
  • raypricebeautyis