Album Review: Chris Knight – Heart of Stone

Ben Cisneros | October 1st, 2008

Chris Knight - Heart of Stone From the opening bars of the groovy “Homesick Gypsy” to the fiddle laced fade-out at the end of “Go On Home,” Heart of Stone is a record that’s strength is its aesthetic–a groovy, fuzzy, Stones-ish roots rock that works flawlessly with Knight’s bourbon soaked, slurring growl of a vocal. Knight’s hooks and melodies compare favorably to Petty’s and Springsteen, and makes the record both engaging and enjoyable from start to finish.

Once you scratch the surface, however, and look beyond the pleasing grooves and the great hooks, beyond credible brawling roadhouse production and that whiskey growl, the images of highways and hard times, the coal miners and convicts, and beyond the divorces and the miscarriages–what you see is not a very substantive or hard record, but, in fact, something like a good time all dressed up in tough guy clothes.

It’s clear that the paradigm Knight is shooting for is that of the hard-edged, working class troubadour and, aesthetically speaking, he’s successful. In “Almost There,” for example, all the right elements are present as Knight sings about busted bottles on the railroad tracks, heading down a road goin’ nowhere, the devil taking all his friends to hell, black flags flying from live oak trees, and the ghost of a worryin’ mama still trying to teach him what’s right and wrong. Sounds pretty hardcore right? On paper it does, and superficially it is, but it’s not very moving because Knight’s writing in it isn’t very artful.

Ain’t nobody livin’ in the Crants Hotel
Devil done been here took all my friends to hell
Hadn’t been in the jailhouse he woulda got me
See the black flag flyin’ from a live oak tree

Down the road goin’ nowhere, down the road I’m almost there…

Sure it sounds plenty cool, but I think it’s fairly illustrative of the way in which Knight tends to miss the mark with this record.

Country music isn’t just about the common man. Country music is about the common man expressing himself uncommonly well. It’s country music’s uncommon honesty and striking revelations which serve to remind us that all men–even the common ones, the guilty ones, the foolish ones, and even our own sorry selves–are fellow sufferers who should be afforded empathetic respect and whose dignity should be recognized.

Unfortunately, Knight doesn’t seem to be laboring to this end and instead Heart of Stone finds him frequently reaching for the easy line, the throw away line, or the line that sounds cool. In “My Old Cars,” he says, “I wish to hell and back was far enough to outrun your memory;” in “Hell Ain’t Half Full” Knight laments that “They take God and Jesus out of our schools/Everybody’s living by their own set of rules;” in “Another Dollar,” Knight’s character questions the idea he’s received from society that money will make him happy by explaining, “I don’t know if that’s right/Don’t know what I believe/Because the more money I got, the more I need.”

It’s not that it’s not fancy enough, it’s that it’s not interesting enough and that it hovers too close to cliché to be revealing.

His melodies and hooks, however, are extremely engaging, as are his exceptional and heartfelt vocal performances, and the production and overall sound of the record are consistently satisfying. It’s a testament to Knight’s considerable talents that the lazy turns of phrase and superficial characters don’t manage to ruin these songs–the song’s strengths are such that they remain catchy, singable, and even moving, despite their lyrical shortcomings–but Heart of Stone, though worthwhile, finds Chris Knight lingering in “what Montgomery Gentry pretends to be” territory, instead of making the bold leap to “what Steve Earle and Merle Haggard are” territory.

If you’re looking for a rootsy good time that is tough enough to be credible, Heart of Stone is a good one to pick up. If you’re looking for something more, you may be disappointed with Knight’s treatment of life’s disappointments.

3.5 Stars

4 Pings

  1. [...] The 9513 Country Music Blog reviews Chris Knight’s Heart of Stone album. [...]
  2. [...] that [Knight] should be Dylan Thomas or Faulkner, and that would be missing the point." — Kelly "Even the worst Chris Knight album is better than 99.9% of the rest of the music industry." [...]
  3. [...] that [Knight] should be Dylan Thomas or Faulkner, and that would be missing the point." — Kelly "Even the worst Chris Knight album is better than 99.9% of the rest of the music industry." [...]
  4. [...] Read the review of Heart of Stone. [...]
  1. Kelly
    October 1, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Oh my gosh Ben. You say some of the lyrics “sound cool”, but they arent creative enough and that he goes for the “easy” lines often times. This simplicity and sparse imagery, mixed with his distinctive growl of a voice is what makes Knight’s lyrics so special. He is a common man, and not merely writing or singing about common men. You seem to suggest that he should be Dylan Thomas or Faulkner, and that would be missing the point. Also, tales of the common man arent cutting edge, and are often times not very original in the actual concept, so why expect Knight’s writing to weave some sort of abstract imagery that would only serve to cloudy the picture that is already bleak enough by simply painting it in simplistic terms. Save the “easy reach” comments for Craig Morgan and Mark Wills, as the entire productions of those artists are born out of the reaching for an easy hit.

  2. Rachel
    October 1, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Though I do not want Chris Knight to reinvent the wheel (give me a drinking, cheating, sad song every time) I do expect him to use these fundamental country stories and images to bring something new to the table.

    Steve Earle was simple: very simple. But he was constantly using the lines in his song to further a point, to highlight the plight of the working man or every man in new ways that were all his own. He affords me the ability to say “Wow, I totally know what he is saying, yet I’ve never thought of it that way before…”

    Country music uses the same imagery, the same story, over and over and over again. This is also true for Blues music. In Blues, what differentiates the songs is the artist: his interpretation of the basic guitar licks and lyrics. I heard it said that in Blues “It is not what you know, but how you blow what you know.”

    Country music is more lyrically based than Blues, so for the music to really count and stand apart from every other song, the artist must shine through lyrically, she must offer her audience something all her own.

    I think that Chris Knight fails to do this: the album is enjoyable and it is certianly country…but that is not enough for Knight’s record to be considered great, especially on the level of Steve Earle or Johnny Cash.

  3. Hollerin' Ben
    October 1, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    Kelly,

    you seem to suggest that he should be Dylan Thomas or Faulkner, and that would be missing the point.

    not at all. I’m suggesting that he should be Johnny Cash or Hank Williams or Steve Earle or Guy Clark or Merle Haggard or Roger Miller or…….

    why expect Knight’s writing to weave some sort of abstract imagery that would only serve to cloudy the picture that is already bleak enough by simply painting it in simplistic terms

    on the contrary, I think that Knight relies too much on abstract images of black flags, nowhere roads, going to hell and back, etc etc. What is missing is concrete psychology and creativity. It shouldn’t be about just placing the right imagery out there, it should be about how the speaker interacts with the imagery and what that says about him, the imagery, the broader world, etc.

    Chris Knight isn’t giving us an in-depth exploration of the common man, he’s giving us a superficial survey to a catchy, hooky, roots rock soundtrack. It’s really enjoyable, it’s just not enlightening.

    if it makes you feel any better, I said basically the same thing about CCR’s version of his tune “Cry Lonely”…

    Rachel,

    Country music is more lyrically based than Blues, so for the music to really count and stand apart from every other song, the artist must shine through lyrically, she must offer her audience something all her own.

    I think that Chris Knight fails to do this: the album is enjoyable and it is certianly country

  4. John Maglite
    October 1, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    I get your take on this album. For the reasons you mention, I think I’d give it 3 stars compared to his previous work and 4 stars in the context of other music being released this year, so 3.5 is a fair grade.

  5. Mike W.
    October 1, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    Even the worst Chris Knight album is better than 99.9% of the rest of the music industry.

    I thought this record was solid, it wasnt as good as “The Jealous Kind” or even his debut, self-titled disc, but I would put it ahead of “Pretty Good Guy” and tied with “Enough Rope”.

    The lyric about the stupid crap on the internet and TV is great though in “Go On Home” and “Another Dollar” speaks the truth about how materialistic my generation is.

  6. Rick
    October 1, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    Ben, thanks for clarifying why I’ve never cared much for Chris Knight’s music in your comment “Knight’s hooks and melodies compare favorably to Petty’s and Springsteen’s, and makes the record both engaging and enjoyable from start to finish.” Thanks! (lol) Well that and the fact I think Chris is kind of a scary person. Fred Eaglesmith once described Chris as having a “dark soul” and with all the vampire movies I’ve seen, that doesn’t sound like a good thing.

    LA Concert Watch Alert: Hayes Carll will be performing at The Mint on Thursday, October 16th and Corb Lund will also be at The Mint on Wednesday, October 29th. The Mint doesn’t book many country related acts, but when they do it tends to be interesting artists. They are the only club in LA to ever host a Fred Eaglesmith concert to my knowledge. Now if they could just do something about the parking and sardine can overcrowding situations. Hmmm…..

  7. Steve M.
    October 1, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    I find it sad that a review of a non-talent like Kelli Pickler can attract so many comments and a real country artist like Christ Knight recieves scant attention. Maybe this why country radio is in so much trouble.

  8. Kelly
    October 1, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    Ben: I see that you wish to be enlightened and to have an “in-depth exploration of the common man”, as you say. With this album, I do feel I am getting in-depth glimpses into real-life stories. “Homesick Gypsy” & “Heart of Stone” are plain spoken and tell their respective stories quite effectively without any sentimentality or pretense.

    You mention Johnny Cash and Steve Earle as artists who didnt rely on fancy imagery in order to “enlighten” you on the simple life of a comman man. While it’s a great song, how is “Walk the Line” elightening or “in-depth”? How is “Taneytown” or “My Old Friend the Blues” from Earle enlightening (although again, they are great songs)? I use these examples to show that even great songs from the artists that you mentioned arent always there for enlightenment or in-depth studies of the blue-collar condition, and most of the time are there simply to tell a story that you may leave feeling enlightened from, but mostly exists to effectively tell a story and to have you get something from it in some form or fashion. It doesnt have to be a scholarly, socio-political statement.

  9. Troy
    October 1, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Steve

    Kellie has plenty of talent if she didn’t Simon and the rest of the judges wouldn’t put her through and he said he thought she was one of three to win. Don’t hate just becuase you might like traditional better but she does have talent.

  10. Steve M.
    October 1, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    Do you really think a Kellie Pickler can write her own songs and a melody? That she has gained experience the old fashion way-playing honky tonks and bars, gaining that valuable experience? Having a pretty face and a nice chest does not make you an artist.

  11. Steve M.
    October 1, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    Do you really think a Kellie Pickler can write her own songs and a melody? That she has gained experience the old fashion way-playing honky tonks and bars, gaining that valuable experience?

  12. Steve M.
    October 1, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    Sorry for the double post. I am not sure what happened.

  13. Steve Harvey
    October 2, 2008 at 12:54 am

    Just wondering what you guys’ policy on review Canadian and Australian acts is? I remembered you reviewed the new Catherine Britt record, and I’d be really interested in hearing what you think of the new Jasmine Rae and Corb Lund albums

  14. Kelly
    October 2, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Holy crap! leave the pickler stuff on the other thread or in the forum.

  15. Hollerin' Ben
    October 2, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    Kelly,

    It doesnt have to be a scholarly, socio-political statement.

    I couldn’t agree more, and I’m glad to make a comparison between Knight and Earle’s pieces

    Let’s look at “My Old Friend the Blues”

    “Just when every ray of hope was gone
    I should have known that you would come along
    I can’t believe I ever doubted you
    My old friend the blues”

    first he does the old bait and switch with the opening three lines, generally when a speaker begins “when every ray of hope was gone, I should have known that you would come along. I can’t believe I ever doubted you” one would expect that he’s speaking with A.another person, and B. that the person is the old reliable friend, the savior who never lets him down. well in this case it is all of those things, it’s his old friend the blues. He’s being saved by his disappointment, which, in an especially revealing turn, he chooses to tenderly personify. It’s concrete psychology over abstract imagery.

    In the first verse he has also introduced the core idea of the song. It doesn’t exist just to be an enjoyable melody or groove, there was a specific reason for it, namely to show us a man who has acquiesced to misery, which he communicated via an inversion of the “reliable friend” paradigm.

    also, in merely four lines into the song Earle has already told a joke,surprised us, explored his own feelings (I can’t believe I ever doubted you), and introduced a devastating inversion from a man whose illusions are gone.

    “Another lonely night, a nameless town
    If sleep don’t take me first, you’ll come around
    ‘Cause I know I can always count on you
    My old friend the blues”

    the first line does a little stage setting, which isn’t a bad thing. Knight does plenty of stage setting at well, though I think he rarely goes beyond that.

    the rest of the stanza fleshes things out by illustrating that this is a condition in perpetuity for Earle. this isn’t a one night thing, this is normal. The temporary situation was the situation before, when he was laboring towards happiness under a misconception (“I don’t know why I ever doubted you”.), the misconception of course is that happiness can ever last. (which skirts the theme of impermanence, adding even more weight to the song)

    but there is a solace in his suffering, namely it’s predictability (“I know I can always count on you”)

    so the second verse has taken the situation deeper. In recognizing the Blues’ inevitability

    and its also worth nothing that in the very act of presenting his insight in the form of a clever inversion device, but with language that is completely common, Earle’s speaker sounds realistic and affable, like that guy at the bar telling misery jokes that hint at hard existential truths.

    “Lovers leave and friends will let you down
    But you’re the only sure thing that I’ve found
    No matter what I do I’ll never lose
    My old friend the blues”

    the way he makes the first line definitive is striking. It’s not “sometimes lovers leave, and occasionally you can be let down”, it’s absolute.

    In the very act of stating this (that is, by establishing that the character believes it worth mentioning), Earle communicates something else about the main character to us, that he is grappling with a failed idealism. If he was a born cynic, he would have taken this for granted ( the old “there is no mention of camels in the Koran” principle), but instead it’s the centerpiece of his refrain. He feels that lovers are meant to stay, and friends are meant to be counted upon, but his experience has been definitive to the contrary.

    On the other hand, he has found one thing deserving of his confidence, one entity whose fidelity he can count on, one thing that he’ll retain no matter what he does.

    “Just let me hide my weary heart in you
    My old friend the blues”

    the tag line pretty much puts the bow on it. His dissapointment has defeated him, he’s tired, he’s giving up the fight, he’s a man with a weary heart, he can no longer whether the storm.

    So is it enjoyable, hell yeah, but it’s also overflowing with insights and personality. Because the speaker goes through the motions of exploration, it comes across as more than just recognizable, it come across as honest, and where it begins by setting an expectation for deliverance, it ends by redefining the idea once and for all. He’s not only settling for the blues, he’s asking to be able to hide in it. It’s country songwriting at it’s best.

    now let’s look at some of “Heart of Stone”

    “i grew up near what they call the flats
    aint too many people knows where its at
    cant hear the highway cant see a way out
    i guarantee it aint nothin worth cryin about”

    the first verse establishes the speaker as an outsider from the country. He’s assuming his audience wont know where he’s from, and he introduces it via the local nickname, rather than it’s proper name or it’s proximity to a city (e.g. outside of Memphis). the second two lines speak to the locations relation to travel opportunities, one can neither “hear” the highway or “see” a way out (good consistency with the two sensory images) the “way out” also has deeper meanings, though it’s not too subtle or creative.

    and then, in what I consider an example of Knight going for the weak, easy cool sounding rhyme he finishes “I guarantee it aint’ nothin worth cryin about”

    why isn’t is worth crying about? why would we think it was? It’s just another way to say it wasn’t much of a place and for the speaker to flaunt his whole “I don’t really give a damn” cred.

    meanwhile, so far we’ve learned that this guy is from nowheresville, that he assumes you think of it that way, and that he’s surly. it’s a sketch at best.

    “daddy left us all back in ’91
    left us all wonderin what it was we done
    id stand in the yard and stare down the road
    i guess i must have missed him now i just dont know”

    it kicks off pretty direct. the first line is factual and other than the tender/country word “daddy”, Knight telling of this gives us no hint on how he feels about it.

    The next line explores that. The dad’s leaving made the family wonder what they had done. Though this explores the consequences of the dad’s leaving, and adds some emotional heft to the event , the language “left us all wonderin what it was we done” is still just factual. It doesn’t even give us much insight into the speaker himself, other than he purposefully conveys highly emotional/tragic events in a detached way.

    The last two lines finally give Knight’s speaker’s reaction to his dad leaving. He’s stand in the yard and stare down the road (which is a really strong image, that of the poor child staring down the empty road), but then Knight goes for, in my opinion, another weak line “I guess I must have missed him now I just don’t know”

    It’s superficially interesting to sound conflicted, but its truly interesting to explore conflict. Why doesn’t he know? Why wouldn’t he miss him? what does this say about the character?

    The only information we have about the speakers of country song is the language they use to express themselves, Knight’s speaker so far has used boring language to give us dry facts. he’s also, in my opinon, wasted two full lines on the pretense of giving “attitude”

    “got the broken promises
    got the broken home
    dont break yourself on a
    heart of stone”

    the chorus is less revealing than the verses! he establishes what he doesn’t have. and then gives a word of advice. what does it mean? is it a warning to someone about him, is his heart the heart of stone? Is it a general cry for optimism, the whole “look at the hard stuff I’ve been through so I can say, don’t let sad things beat you”?

    it is singable. and it’s catchy. and it’s cool. but it’s not clear, it’s not insightful (to any degree), it’s not clever, and though I’d say that Knight’s feints towards inner turmoil give it the illusion of weightiness, I think it’s lack of in-depth exploration keeps is from being weighty.

    “i married a girl i met in tennessee
    the baby didnt make it, so neither did we
    i still think about her but shes fadin fast
    it dont do no good dwellin on the past”

    the second line in this is, I think, the highlite of the song. “the baby didn’t make it, so neither did we” tells us a lot in a short time. It hints at plenty of conflict and disappointment.

    the second half is back to boring form. the last line is another line that is too close to cliche for me. “It don’t do no good dwellin on the past”.

    Also, why then is he recounting the most tragic moments of his life? If the idea is to keep on truckin, why look back. It may explain why he only recounts them factually, but not emotionally, but the result is something like a newspaper telling of a tragedy, a litany of facts that don’t have the fingerprints of personality on them. When it comes to human beings, facts are not definitive.

    “well i call momma every now and then
    to say im comin home but i dont know when
    well i ran into daddy but its been so long
    i dont tell momma, i dont let on

    got the broken promises
    got the broken home
    dont break yourself on a
    heart of stone

    well i got drunk with daddy just the other night
    he said “he was glad to see i turned out alright”
    i hear people sayin “like father like son”
    dont think about it much but i worry bout it some

    a heart of stone
    dont break yourself
    on a heart of stone
    dont break yourself
    on a heart of stone”

    the rest of the song is pretty much just more of the same. the chorus is never illuminated, it remains vague. the mother-father stuff is sort of interesting, but not very developed. the “don’t think about it much, worry bout it some” falls into the one night rodeo “alive and living” category. If Knight means for it to be an insight, he needs to explain, or at least hint at, the difference.

    But mysterious distinctions sound so cool!

    anyhow, in conclusion, I think that Knight’s writing on “heart of stone” is pretty typical for his, as in Earle’s on “My old friend the blues”, and I think that it shows that whereas Knight is a talented craftsman of pop-rock with a rough southern exterior who uses images and colloquialisms to set a tone, he’s no Steve Earle.

  16. John Maglite
    October 2, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    Holy cow, Ben. That comment was like a dissertation.

  17. Kelly
    October 3, 2008 at 4:25 am

    Thanks Ben, great comparison and well-made points for sure. I think i’ll wait to disagree with you in the future until I have an hour or so to preare a comment ;-)

  18. Brady Vercher
    October 5, 2008 at 12:15 am

    “Heart of Stone” could possibly be the exploration of the psyche of an apathetic man, which aligns with the “I don’t give a damn” vibe, but I think it provides a little more insight than Ben gives it credit for. It also holds up better when latter verses are allowed to give prior verses meaning.

    I grew up near what they call The Flats
    Ain’t too many people knows where its at
    Can’t hear the highway cant see a way out
    I guarantee it ain’t nothin’ worth cryin’ about

    Regarding “the way out,” it may not be subtle or entirely creative, but it serves it’s purpose effectively. It says a whole lot without wasting any words, and it’s not overtly cliche, so I don’t think he serves as a knock on the song. It’s simple, meaningful, and effective.

    There hasn’t been anything to hint at the guy’s way of thinking yet, but as we find out, it’s a place of painful memories. Immediately, all the “cryin'” line says is that the place wasn’t much of anything, but on a deeper level, it tells us that he has no attachments to his past.

    Daddy left us all back in ’91
    Left us all wonderin what it was we done
    I’d stand in the yard and stare down the road
    I guess I must have missed him now I just dont know

    I think the “cryin'” line tells us how Knight feels about his daddy leaving. Either that, or it futher underscores that’s he’s lost touch with his emotions. The verse is emotionally detached, but is there a better way of exploring that from the hard ass/apathetic view point? I’m really not detecting much attitude, but rather the way a man has learned to deal with the painful times in his life.

    Got the broken promises
    Got the broken home
    Don’t break yourself on a
    Heart of stone

    The chorus summarizes the way he views the events defining his life and what they’ve made of him. It is a bit vague, but if we don’t consider the listener to be his audience, but rather a woman, he’s telling her not to waste her time.

    I married a girl I met in Tennessee
    The baby didnt make it, so neither did we
    I still think about her but shes fadin fast
    It dont do no good dwellin on the past

    The second line is killer, but why exactly didn’t they make it? He doesn’t tell us because he may not know, but considering his demeanor, he was most likely incapable of supporting his wife emotionally in her time of greatest need. The second half again underscores the way he handles emotions and painful memories.

    What we’re looking at is a child who has been abandoned by his father and the way he’s chosen to deal with his emotions. In this case, he’s buried them until they’ve become inaccessible to even himself and that’s how he deals with anything painful in his life, and that’s why he might come across as factual and surly. He could have easily become a drunk, but I think Knight has chosen the less common route here. Coupled with the qualities Ben mentioned in the second to last paragraph of the review, I think enough insight is provided to create a pretty sweet song.

  19. Kelly
    October 6, 2008 at 9:33 am

    yeah Ben, what Brady said!!

  20. Country Ramblings
    October 23, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Sounds to me that he is the John Cougar Mellancamp of country here with his hometown lyrics and gravely voice put him a league of his own. Unfortunately i do not have the training you all have with breaking the sound down piece by piece but i rally like his sound

  21. B.T.
    November 29, 2008 at 12:17 am

    Though I may not have the trained ear as the rest of you, I do have an opinion of the album. How many albums does Chris need to release before he is compared to himself instead of others? I know that it is regarded as a compliment to be compared to greats but is it not just as notable to be compared to yourself? Nowhere in this review was there a comparison or mention of any of Chris’ previous albums, only constant comparison to others. Last I new, from personally talking with him, Chris is Chris and he is not trying to be anybody else. I for one find the album very enjoyable. To me, that’s what listening to music is about; not disecting every lyric of every song and comparing it to what someone else may or may not have written.

    Mike W. said it best, “Even the worst Chris Knight album is better than 99.9% of the rest of the music industry.”

  22. Stormy
    November 29, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Comparing artists to other artists helps describe their sound to newcomers.

  23. Sherry
    November 30, 2008 at 10:46 am

    I think if your going to write a review on a artist, you damn well better do your homework. CK has released yet another “in your face” cd. It’s raw, real and filled with passion, if you don’t “get” “Heart of Stone”, I don’t how you “got” CK’s previous releases. Chris is a simple man that has taken, “roots” music to a whole new level. If your looking for commercial country…this cd is not for you, if your looking for a cd that will burn it’s way into your memory..go out and get it now and catch a live show..then you will really “get it”.

  24. B.T.
    December 1, 2008 at 5:20 am

    Stormy,

    I understand one might compare an artist to asimilate their sound with the sound of others, but this review and especially the comments that followed is flat out, not that. It is a complete disecting and ridicule of someone’s song writing ability and technique with the added notion that others could or would have written the songs better. One cannot possibly know what Earle or Cash would of wrote had they been writing the same song.

  25. Cashfan
    December 2, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    Lets get real here. There`s no arguing to be done. Chris has yet again put out another awesome album with heart filled lyrics. There`s not another artist on the radio today that can write like him. I think this album is hard, tough, and gritty, but at the same time it shows Chris maturing some as a song writer, and getting better.( I didn`t think he could get better.)

    “dont go online i dont watch tv /cause i know all im gonna see/is something stupid goin on
    stupids in the water these days/they’re gonna drink it any way/til they dont know right from wrong” or
    how about “They chased God and Jesus / Out of our schools
    And everybody’s living / By their own set of rules”

    Amazing lyrics. There is only a handful of people that can write 1 song as good as good as any of Chris`s. Yet again and again he fills up album after album with awesome songs.

    Bottem line here, Chris is one of 3 artist that I think of, that I can buy an album and know that I will like every song on there.

    Why Chris does not get more airplay is beyond me.

Tagged In This Article

Current Discussion

  • Leeann Ward: Thanks, NM. I like a good pop hook, to be honest. So, maybe I need to try it again.
  • Barry Mazor: OK, Jim Z. That changes everything. I surrender.
  • Jim Z: to call the Dirty River Boys an "Austin area band" is still incorrect. They are based in El Paso.
  • nm: Leeann, you and I often have similar tastes in more-traditional country. And, to my ears, Sam Hunt's voice and lyrics …
  • Barry Mazor: Matter of fact, as always--I did. The notes say the album was recorded & mixed by and at "The …
  • Roger: Looking forward to picking up the Jamey Johnson Christmas EP - love all of those songs and can't wait for …
  • Jim Z: that record was recorded in El Paso. (you could look it up) and other than appearing in Austin once in …
  • Leeann Ward: Yes, I can always use more dobro in my life! Thanks for the Phil Leadbetter tip! I haven't been able to …
  • Barry Mazor: OK, Jim. The record's more or less out of Austin. But I'm sure they're also good in El Paso...
  • Jim Z: Dirty River Boys are from El Paso, Texas.

Recently Reviewed Albums

  • walkerandthetexasdangers3
  • deadmanstown
  • tom t hall storytellers
  • paulthorntooblessed
  • duhksbeyondtheblue
  • kelleymickwee
  • sandrarhodes
  • candi staton